We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda Managed Workplace

Managing Hyper-V Snapshots

  • Last updated on

The Hyper-V service module lets you create snapshots of virtual machines from within Service Center. Snapshots capture the hardware configuration, data, and state of a virtual machine, which you can then use to revert the machine to a previous state.

Additionally, you can apply or revert to a snapshot, view a list of the snapshots you have created, and delete the snapshots you no longer need.

Creating a Snapshot

When you create a snapshot in the Hyper-V service module, it is automatically named by combining the time stamp and the virtual machine name. For example, JSMITH - (10/15/2013 - 2:43:56 PM), where JSMITH is the virtual machine name. Snapshots are stored on the host machine, and can be accessed using the Hyper-V Manager.

  1. In Service Center, click Status and then click Service Modules.
  2. Click the Hyper-V link.
  3. In the Managed Sites table, click a site name.
  4. In the Managed Hosts table, click a host machine name.
  5. In the Guests table, click the name of the virtual machine on which you want to create the snapshot.
  6. In the Snapshot Management area, click Create Snapshot.

When the snapshot is being created, the following notification message appears at the top of the screen:

Command executed successfully: Command started.

Note: The snapshot information appears in the Available Snapshots table after the next asset scan, which can take up to 15 minutes.

Tip: You can view a list of the snapshots you’ve created in the Available Snapshots table. This table also lists the snapshots that were created using the Hyper-V Manager. From this table you can apply the snapshot you have created.

Applying a Snapshot

The Available Snapshots table, located on the Guest Overview dashboard, lists all of the snapshots that you can apply to the virtual machine.

Note: You cannot apply a snapshot when a virtual machine is running. To apply a snapshot, the virtual machine must be saved and turned off.

  1. In Service Center, click Status and then click Service Modules.
  2. Click the Hyper-V link.
  3. In the Managed Sites table, click a site name.
  4. In the Managed Hosts table, click a host machine name.
  5. In the Guests table, click the name of the virtual machine on which you want to apply a snapshot.
  6. Scroll down to the Available Snapshots table.
  7. Click the Apply link for the snapshot you want to apply.

When the snapshot has been successfully applied, the following notification messages appears at the top of the screen:

Command executed successfully: Command started.

Reverting a Virtual Machine to the Previous Snapshot

You can revert a virtual machine, which returns its configuration and state to the previous snapshot in relation to the guest’s current position in the snapshot tree. You can view the snapshot tree location of the current state in the Hyper-V Manager.

Any modifications made to the configuration of the virtual machine since the last snapshot was taken are discarded during the revert process.

  1. In Service Center, click Status and then click Service Modules.
  2. Click the Hyper-V link.
  3. In the Managed Sites table, click a site name.
  4. In the Managed Hosts table, click a host machine name.
  5. In the Guests table, click the name of the virtual machine on which you want to apply a snapshot.
  6. In the Snapshot Management area, click Revert.

Deleting a Snapshot and Snapshot Subtrees

You can delete a snapshot or an entire snapshot subtree. A subtree is every iteration of a snapshot that was created, starting with the root node containing the original snapshot. When you delete a snapshot, as opposed to the snapshot subtree, you are deleting only the latest version of the snapshot.

  1. In Service Center, click Status and then click Service Modules.
  2. Click the Hyper-V link.
  3. In the Managed Sites table, click a site name.
  4. In the Managed Hosts table, click a host machine name.
  5. In the Guests table, click the name of the virtual machine on which you want to delete a snapshot.
  6. Scroll down to the Available Snapshots table.
  7. Beside the snapshot you want to delete, click one of the following:
  • Delete
  • Delete Subtree
Last updated on