We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda Managed Workplace

Managing Vmware Snapshots

  • Last updated on

The VMware service module lets you create snapshots of virtual machines from within Service Center. Snapshots capture the hardware configuration, data, and state of a virtual machine, which you can then use to revert the machine to a previous state. Snapshots are typically created as backups before performing a task that is potentially risky, such as installing software.

You can also revert to the most current snapshot or a snapshot that you select.

Creating a Snapshot

When you create a snapshot in the VMware service module, you provide a name and optionally notes about the snapshot.

  1. In Service Center, click Status > Service Modules.
  2. Click the VMware link.
  3. In the Multi-Site Summary table, click a site name.
  4. Scroll down to the Hosts Summary table.
  5. Click a host machine name.
  6. Scroll down to the Guest Summary table.
  7. Click a guest machine name.
  8. In the Guest State Management area, click Manage Snapshots.
  9. In the Snapshot Management area, click Create Snapshot.
  10. Provide a name and optionally notes about the snapshot, and click Run.
  11. When the snapshot is being created, the following notification message appears at the top of the screen:

Command executed successfully: Command started.

Note: The snapshot information appears in the Available Snapshots table after the next asset scan, which can take up to 15 minutes.

Tip: You can view a list of the snapshots you’ve created in the Available Snapshots table. This table also lists the snapshots that were created using the VMware Manager. From this table you can apply the snapshot you have created.

Reverting to a Previous Snapshot

You can revert a guest machine to the current snapshot, or to a snapshot that you select. Reverting returns the guest configuration and state to the snapshot you select. Any modifications made to the configuration of the virtual machine since the last snapshot was taken are discarded during the revert process.

  1. In Service Center, click Status > Service Modules.
  2. Click the VMware link.
  3. In the Managed Sites table, click a site name.
  4. In the Managed Hosts table, click a host machine name.
  5. In the Guests table, click the name of the virtual machine on which you want to apply a snapshot.
  6. Click the Manage Snapshots link.
  7. Do one of the following:
    • In the Snapshot Management area, click Revert to Current Snapshot.
    • In the Available Snapshots table, click the Revert link for the snapshot you want to revert to.
Last updated on