It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda Yosemite Server Backup

How can I change the name of a server as listed in Yosemite Server Backup?

  • Type: Knowledgebase
  • Date changed: one year ago
Solution #00005827

Scope:
This solution applies to Yosemite Server Backup 8.0 and newer.

Answer:
Yosemite Server Backup will create node names for each server in the Yosemite domain based on the system names.  Changing the name will build a new system object in the database.  Any selections that were made under the original name will have to be redone for the new object name

If a restore is needed from a backup that was performed to the original name then the ?move? function will need to be used to restore the files
  1. Close Yosemite Server Backup.
  2. Stop the Yosemite Backup Service on the local Windows machine.
    • For details on starting / stopping the Yosemite Backup Service refer to Solution #00004025.
  3. Open the ytconfig.ini file in a text editor.
    • This file is located in the config folder in the root directory of the Yosemite Server Backup install path. This location may vary based on the operating system and version of Yosemite Server Backup.
    • For details on the default installation path, refer to Solution #00004045.
  4. Delete the nodeGuid line under the [configuration] section.
  5. Change the name of the system after the nodeName= line under the [configuration] section.
  6. Save and close the ytconfig.ini file.
  7. Start the Yosemite Server Backup service.
  8. Open Yosemite Server Backup administrator.
  9. You will see a new system object for the new name entered and a new nodeGuid has been created for it. 
    • Any selections that are made in the backup jobs will need to be reselected for this new system object.
  10. If a restore is needed from a backup that was written using the original system object then a ?move? restore will be necessary. 
    • For this reason, it is recommended not to delete the original system object until you are comfortable no longer needing to restore the files that were backed up to that system using the old name. 
    • If you delete the object and wish to restore, then an import of that media will need to be ran in order for the catalog to reestablish the old system object.

Link to This Page:

https://campus.barracuda.com/solution/50160000000IeFFAA0