We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda SSL VPN

My password has been changed but I get a message asking to enter my old password when logging on to my Barracuda SSL VPN?

  • Type: Knowledgebase
  • Date changed: 8 years ago
Solution #00003786

Scope:
This solution applies to Barracuda SSL VPNs, all firmware versions.

Answer:

By default the Barracuda SSL VPN encrypts all user attributes with the user's current password. If the password changes then the SSL VPN needs to know the old password so that it can decrypt these values and re-encrypt with the new password value. If the user does not remember the old password then it does not need to be entered and the user can select the Reset Attributes option. This would mean that any attributes that the user has stored will be deleted and replaced with new empty values as the data could not be decrypted.

 

Encryption of the Attributes can be disabled through the SSL VPN if required. Go to Access Control > Security Settings, in the Confidential Attributes section is the Confidential Mode option. Set this to Disabled and the SSL VPN will stop encrypting the Attributes with the current password, so the user will not need to update their password when it changes.


Link to This Page:
https://campus.barracuda.com/solution/50160000000HUh0AAG