This solution applies to all Barracuda SSL VPNs.
Default password assignment on your Barracuda SSL VPN will vary depending on the user database in use. When using a Built-in Database a password must be set for each account when it is created. When using an imported user database (such as Active Directory or LDAP) the password for an account is assigned to the SSL VPN account and by default cannot be changed through the SSL VPN. If the Read Only option for an imported user database is disabled then this will allow the imported password to be changed through the SSL VPN.
There are several methods that can be used to change the account password. Passwords can only be changed for both Built-in and imported databases with Read Only disabled:
- Force the user to change their
password at next login
When a new account is created there is an option labeled Force user to change password at next login. If this option is enabled then when the user first logs in to the SSL VPN they must change their password before continuing. This option is also available in the Set Password option after an account has been created.
- Natural lifespan of the password
If a password reaches the end of its validity period the next time the user logs in they will be prompted to change their password.
- Administrator changes the accounts
On the Accounts page is an option labeled Set Password selecting this option allows the administrator to change the users password. The option to force the user to change their password can also be found here.
- User changes their password
There is a Personal level Access Right that allows users to change their own password. If a user has this permission they will see a Change Password page when they login to the SSL VPN. Selecting this page will prompt the user to provide their current password and the new password.
Link to this page: