When you run an archive search, you can update any results shown. You cannot change the message data, but you can change the retention or deletion status.
Some of the following options are affected by whether the search is into the Recycle Bin or otherwise – not all options are available for all searches. The options available are:
- Put message On Hold or take Off Hold – A message on hold cannot be deleted or expired but appears as a standard search result. This is useful to mark a message of specific interest. There is no other change of behavior of the message. You can list all items put on hold by choosing the search status option Search only items on hold.
- Delete message – Moves the message into the recycle bin, which may cause it to be subsequently deleted from the archive. See Recycle Bin Node for more information.
- Undelete message – Moves the message out of the recycle bin (unless it is also expired).
- Set Retention Period – Allows you to set a specific date, or a specific time since creation, at which the messages will expire (message is hidden from searches except when using search for expired items) or specify that the message use the repository default retention period (the default status).
- Delete message from recycle bin – Physically deletes a message from the recycle bin so it can no longer be retrieved. This operation cannot be undone.
Take caution when updating the archive. You can prevent users from accessing the mail archived from their mailboxes and using the Delete from recycle bin option, or the Delete option if emptying the recycle bin is scheduled to run automatically. These actions can destroy archived data.
When a policy runs to archive mail from a mailbox, it can be configured to also check message links in the mailbox to see if the archived message has been deleted, expired, or deleted from the recycle bin, and if so, delete the message link. This behavior is set using an option on the Policy actions page for an archive policy. If you undelete a message from the archive a while later, it does not recreate the user's message link.