Use the Tag Definitions node to create, update, and delete tags.
Tags are markers that can be attached, either automatically (using the Auto Tag node) or manually (using the Investigations node), to messages in the archive. A message can have any number of tags, and a tag can be on any number of messages. The presence of a tag is not visible outside ArchiveOne Admin, and has no influence on the behavior of the message, with the exception of Hold tags when purging.
There are two kinds of tags:
- Hold tags – If a message has a hold tag, the message cannot be purged, i.e., deleted from the recycle bin. If the message has several tags and one or more of them is a Hold tag, the message cannot be purged.
- Search tags – These have no influence over whether the message can be purged, they are only for marking messages of interest.
Once a tag is created, its type cannot be changed.
Each tag has two parts to the identifier – name and category. Name and category may be used in many ways. Some examples are provided to suggest how a group of tags can be used to refer to a particular issue or investigation by giving them a common name, and then the meaning of the particular tag can be indicated by the category, such as 'for review', 'not relevant', 'relevant', 'critical'. Each tag's identifier (the combination of its name and category) must be unique.
A tag can be in one of 3 states:
- Active – Tag can be added to and removed from messages.
- Inactive – Tag is excluded from the tag selection dialog, and cannot be added to or removed from messages. This is typically for tags that are no longer in common use such as tags relating to an issue that has been resolved.
- Deleted – Tag is no longer in use. The tag can no longer be selected for adding to or removing from messages, but if a message still has the deleted tag on it, the tag still appears in the details of search results.
By default, deleted tags are hidden from the Tag Definitions node unless show deleted tags is selected. You cannot create a tag with the same name as another tag, even if the other tag is deleted. You cannot entirely remove a tag once it is created, you can only delete it and remove it from all messages.
Note that the administrator of the archive is responsible for backing up the tag data. This is held in the TagIndex subdirectory of the index directory for the repository of the messages being tagged.