We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.

Attention

Starting May 1st, 2018, we will no longer offer the ArchiveOne family of products. This includes all editions of ArchiveOne, ArchiveOne for Files, Max Compression, and Access Security Manager. If you currently hold a maintenance and support contract, you will continue to receive our award-winning support until your contract expires, or until May 1st, 2019, whichever occurs first. The license for ArchiveOne is perpetual; therefore the software may continue to be used independently without any updates or support indefinitely.

Recycle Bin Node

  • Last updated on

When a message is deleted or expired, it is no longer visible on a search using the Search and Retrieval Website, and no longer visible on a standard search using ArchiveOne Admin. Instead, it is moved to the recycle bin, and can only be viewed by setting up an archive search in ArchiveOne Admin and setting the Status criteria option on the Archive Search Definition dialog to search only the recycle bin. Or, in the case of expired items, you can also define the status criteria to only search for expired items. Only items in repositories that do not use a storage manager can be deleted from the recycle bin. Items in repositories that use a storage manager can expire, but they do not appear in the recycle bin.

If a repository is shared with ArchiveOne Compliance, an item in it can be marked for legal hold. This prevents the item from being purged from the recycle bin, but does not prevent the item from being put into the recycle bin. There is no way in ArchiveOne to change the status of items on legal hold, this must be done by ArchiveOne Compliance.

Deleted items are handled differently from expired items. If an item is deleted, it moves to the recycle bin where it remains until it is deleted from the recycle bin or restored to become a normal message. However, expired items are only shown as being in the recycle bin because their expiration date has passed. If an expired item has its expiration date changed to a date in the future, it is no longer expired and no longer appears in the recycle bin. This is particularly relevant if the default retention date is changed for a repository which can cause a large number of messages to appear in or be removed from the recycle bin.

Deleted or expired items remain in the recycle bin indefinitely unless the recycle bin is manually emptied or a schedule is configured to empty it. The main purpose of emptying the recycle bin is to recover disk space for items stored in the archive that are no longer required.

Items deleted from a repository cannot be recovered; proceed with extreme caution.

To manually empty the recycle bin, in ArchiveOne Admin, click Recycle Bin, and then click Empty recycle bin on the toolbar. You can choose the repositories whose recycle bins you want to empty. The list of repositories contains only those repositories that do not use a storage manager. If all is selected, only repositories that do not use a storage manager are emptied. You are then required to type the word delete in order to confirm that you want to delete all items in the given repositories in the specified age range from the recycle bin.

To schedule emptying the recycle bin, Recycle Bin, and then click Configure Schedule on the toolbar. You can specify the repositories to be processed and you can configure a schedule. You can also choose an age range. Only messages which have been in the recycle bin between the given ages are deleted – the upper age limit is to prevent accidental deletion of messages whose expiration date has been misconfigured. Type delete to confirm the configuration.

Configuring scheduled emptying of the recycle bin is not recommended during the early stages of configuring the archiving process. Initially, all messages should be checked to ensure they are correct candidates for deletion before a manual emptying is selected, since an empty the recycle bin operation cannot be undone. Only when the manual examination and emptying process does not highlight any issues should you consider using scheduled emptying.

The Roles and User Management cannot configure a schedule for emptying the recycle bin. To schedule this action, create a role based on the ADMINISTRATOR role, grant it this permission, assign the new role to a user, log in as that user, and run ArchiveOne Admin to configure a recycle bin schedule. See How to Assign User Roles for more information.

 If a repository or a messages expiration date is changed, it may have unexpected results from the point of view of recycle bin management. For instance, consider a message created 35 days ago, archived into a repository where the default expiration period is 30 days. This means that the message has nominally been in the recycle bin for 5 days, and would not be deleted by an Empty recycle bin operation that only deleted items that had been in the recycle bin for more than 10 days.

However, if the repositorys default expiration period was changed to 20 days, the same message would be interpreted as having been in the recycle bin for 15 days and so would be deleted by a Empty recycle bin operation that only deleted items that had been in the recycle bin for more than 10 days.

 

 

Last updated on