We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.

Attention

Starting May 1st, 2018, we will no longer offer the ArchiveOne family of products. This includes all editions of ArchiveOne, ArchiveOne for Files, Max Compression, and Access Security Manager. For more information, please visit: https://campus.barracuda.com/product/archiveone/

Laptop Client

  • Last updated on

If you are using a laptop (or any other PC) which has Laptop Client installed, and you connect to a mailbox that has been prepared for offline synchronization by an administrator, then while you are online the Laptop Client silently copies the archive of the mailbox onto the laptop’s local hard drive, and while you are offline any attempt to retrieve from the archive retrieves from the local copy of the archive. When installed, by default it regularly attempts to synchronize the mailbox archive to your laptop, but aborts if the laptop is not online. Note that Outlook does not need to be running. This means that if you spend several hours a day with your laptop connected to the network, your laptop’s copy of the archive of your mail is kept up-to-date without any further interaction.

On Outlook’s Tools/Options dialog, you can check Laptop Client details and change configuration parameters including frequency of checking online or synchronizing. You can manage the list of mailboxes you are synchronizing, for instance, to delete the local archive of a mailbox you no longer log into (this does not affect the server copy of the archive) or to move a local archive to a different hard drive. You can check the activity log if you are interested in seeing when synchronization is happening and how much data is synchronized, and turn on the tool tray icon (an icon that appears next to the clock on your desktop) to control synchronization when Outlook is not running.

Some connectivity methods (HTTP/HTTPS) require authentication. If Laptop Client requires authentication, a message displays in the bottom right hand corner of your screen. Click the message, and enter your username and password to be authenticated at the server. If this is successful, you may be prompted again in 30 days to re-authenticate.

For more information about offline synchronization, see How to Prepare for Offline Synchronization.

For Laptop Client installation pre-requisites, refer to Installing the ArchiveOne Service and Components.

 

 

 

 

Last updated on