We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda Backup

Retention Policies Page

  • Last updated on

Configure retention policies for data stored on a Barracuda Backup appliance on the Backup > Retention Policies page. Be sure to configure retention policies for your data. Not doing so means that some unwanted data will be moved across the Internet and stored, causing unnecessary expense.

Data is retained based on a traditional grandfather-father-son (daily-weekly-monthly) rotation model. You can specify how long to keep daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly backups by creating data retention policies. Multiple retention policies can be created for files, data backed up by the Barracuda Backup Agent (Exchange, SQL, System State), and email messages.

Retention policy for CIFS differs from data backed up via the Barracuda Backup Agent. For file share backup via CIFS, the Barracuda Backup appliance classifies every file as a unique data source, and follows the longest part of retention.

There are some template policies provided to assist you in creating your own retention policies. You can create one policy for all data sources on a Barracuda Backup appliance or multiple policies that each include some subset of the data.

When data is removed according to a retention policy, it is deleted from both the local Barracuda Backup appliance and the offsite storage locations. Removed files that have been backed up using Network File Shares Protocol or SSHFS may be retained for a longer period of time, according to the configuration. Otherwise, once your data has been purged, it is gone forever. Purging applies to historic file revisions only; your current data is not impacted by a retention policy. If you wish to purge data immediately for a specific retention policy, go to the Backup > Retention Policies page, and click Start Purge Process, and click Start Purge Process in the dialog that follows to confirm your selection.

Purging applies to historic file revisions only; your current data is never impacted by a retention policy.

Click Edit to the right of a retention policy to modify the retention timeline, and click Remove to delete a retention timeline.

Last updated on