It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda Campus Help Center / Reference

License or Trial Expiration for Barracuda Networks Email Protection

  • Last updated on

This article describes what happens to the behavior of your Barracuda Networks Email Protection features when your trial period expires before you purchase a subscription or if you do not renew your subscription.

To renew your license or convert your free trial to a paid license, complete a purchase request or contact your Barracuda Networks representative. If you are having difficulties, contact Barracuda Networks Support

For more information, refer to the Barracuda Networks Online Service Terms.

Automatic Remediation

Upon expiration, Automatic Remediation no longer creates incidents. You can view the Incident Details page, but cannot view the emails or turn on continuous remediation. After 30 days, Barracuda Networks deactivates Automatic Remediation and deletes its associated data. Barracuda Networks displays a banner at the top of the screen and sends an email to the administrator on record to provide advance notice of the upcoming expiration and then notice that the expiration date has been reached.

If you purchase or renew a subscription:

  • Within 30 days of expiration, you will see all of your incidents and workflows that were created during your trial or subscription. 
  • After 30 days from the expiration date and your account has been deactivated, you must perform the startup process again.

Cloud Archiving

If your subscription remains expired for a period of 30 days, and you have not made arrangements with Barracuda, data is moved to a purge queue.

Cloud-to-Cloud Backup

If your subscription remains expired for a period of 30 days, and you have not made arrangements with Barracuda, data is moved to a purge queue.

Data Inspector

If your subscription remains expired for a period of 30 days, and you have not made arrangements with Barracuda, data is moved to a purge queue.

Domain Fraud Protection

Upon expiration, Domain Fraud Protection enters Reporting mode and you can no longer change the remediation option.  After 30 days, Barracuda Networks deactivates Domain Fraud Protection and deletes its associated data. Barracuda Networks displays a banner at the top of the screen and sends an email to the administrator on record to provide advance notice of the upcoming expiration and then notice that the expiration date has been reached.

  If you purchase or renew a subscription:

  • Within 30 days of expiration, you will see all of your account takeover incidents, attack alerts, and false positive reports  that were created during your trial or subscription. 
  • After 30 days from the expiration date and your account has been deactivated, you must perform the startup process again.

Email Gateway Defense

Upon expiration, a warning message displays at the top of the web interface and an email notification is sent to the administrator on record, noting that your account has expired, and is either suspended or disabled.  

  • Suspended – If your account is suspended, the service continues to scan viruses only; configured policies are no longer applied, spam is not blocked, and spooling is disabled.
  • Disabled If your account is disabled, all mail to your domains is rejected by the service.

Impersonation Protection

Upon expiration, Impersonation Protection enters Reporting mode and you can no longer change the remediation option. After 30 days, Barracuda Networks deactivates Impersonation Protection and deletes its associated data. Barracuda Networks displays a banner at the top of the screen and sends an email to the administrator on record to provide advance notice of the upcoming expiration and then notice that the expiration date has been reached.

If you purchase or renew a subscription:

  • Within 30 days of expiration, you will see all of your account takeover incidents, attack alerts, and false positive reports  that were created during your trial or subscription. 
  • After 30 days from the expiration date and your account has been deactivated, you must perform the startup process again.

Incident Response

Upon expiration, you can no longer create incidents or workflows. You can view the Incident Details page, but cannot view the emails or turn on continuous remediation. After 30 days, Barracuda Networks deactivates Incident Response and deletes its associated data. Barracuda Networks displays a banner at the top of the screen and sends an email to the administrator on record to provide advance notice of the upcoming expiration and then notice that the expiration date has been reached.

If you purchase or renew a subscription:

  • Within 30 days of expiration, you will see all of your incidents and workflows that were created during your trial or subscription. 
  • After 30 days from the expiration date and your account has been deactivated, you must perform the startup process again.

Security Awareness Training

On the day after the expiration, your Security Awareness Training instance switches to read-only mode, you can no longer run campaigns, and statistics are no longer updated. For approximately 90 days after the expiration, you can export and run reports on your data. After that time, your instance and all associated data are permanently deleted. You can also request that your data be deleted immediately. Deleted data exists on Barracuda Networks backups for approximately 30 additional days, as an emergency backup for disaster recovery purposes only. When your account has expired, Barracuda Networks displays a banner at the top of the screen and sends an email to the administrator on record. 

Barracuda Email Security Gateway

The Barracuda Email Security Gateway offers a renewable Energize Updates subscription as well as an optional Cloud Protection Layer subscription. For details about the behavior of each subscription lapse, see When Your Energize Updates Subscription Expires.

Last updated on