We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.

Retention Policies and Litigation Holds

  • Last updated on

 

 

Data retention policies allow you to specify message retention policies and Saved Search retention policies on the Policy > Retention page. Retention policies are the only way to purge messages; data cannot be deleted directly by a user.

Watch the Retention Policies video:

Retention Policies

By default, automated archived message purging on the Barracuda Cloud Archiving Service is disabled. If you enable this ability, the Global Retention Policy and any Saved Search retention policies are run against all the archived messages weekly on Friday night.

Warning
If the age of any message exceeds the maximum age allowed by all Saved Search retention policies that apply to the message, that message is
permanently deleted from the Barracuda Cloud Archiving Service.

The Global Retention Policy setting does not apply to any messages that match a Saved Search retention policy.

To enable or disable the automatic message expiration capability:

  • On the Policy > Retention page, specify whether to Allow automatic message deletion.

Global Retention Policy

The Global Retention Policy applies to all archived messages. When retention policies are run against the archived messages weekly on Friday night, any messages stored on the Barracuda Cloud Archiving Service that are older than this age are deleted unless they match an existing Saved Search policy.

To configure the Global Retention Policy:

  1. On the Policy > Retention page, set Allow automatic message expiration to Yes.
  2. Click Add Global Retention Policy to open the Add Retention Policy dialog.
  3. In the Keep on cloud section, specify the total length of archived message retention:
    1. ForeverMessages are retained in the Barracuda Cloud Archiving Service forever.
    2. ForEnter the number of days to retain archived messages.
  4. Click Submit to save the retention policy, and then click Save.

Saved Search Retention Policy 

A Saved Search retention policy enables you to automatically expire messages that match a particular set of content criteria defined in the Basic > Search page. Use this feature to create exceptions to the global Retention Policy.

Saved searches containing tags cannot be used in a Saved Search retention policy and do not appear in the list of available Saved Searches.

To configure a Saved Search retention policy:

  1. Go to the Barracuda Cloud Archiving Service. Note the criteria specified by the Saved Search on which this retention policy is to be based. If you need to create a saved search, go to the Basic > Search page. After you create and saved a search, you can use it as part of a Saved Search retention policy definition.
  2. Verify Allow automatic message expiration option is set to Yes.
  3. Click Add Retention Policy to open the Add Retention Policy dialog.
  4. From the Saved Search drop-down menu, select the Saved Search on which to base the retention policy.
  5. In the Keep on cloud section, specify the total length of archived message retention:
    1. Forever – Messages are retained in the Barracuda Cloud Archiving Service forever.
    2. For – Enter the number of days to retain archived messages.
  6. Click Submit to save the retention policy, and then click Save.

    If a message matches more than one Saved Search-based policy, then the message is kept according to the longest policy length. If it matches a Saved Search-based policy as well as the global policy, then the Saved Search policy takes precedence.

Litigation Holds

Litigation Holds are created by auditors to prevent messages that meet the criteria for a specific Saved Search from being removed from the Barracuda Cloud Archiving Service. The system administrator must first Enable Litigation Holds before auditors are given the option to create Litigation Holds from the Saved Searches tab on the Basic > Search page.

The following information about active Litigation Holds will be displayed here, visible only to the system administrator:

  • Auditor – The account name of the Auditor who created the Litigation Hold
  • Saved Search – The name of the Saved Search associated with this Litigation Hold
  • Hold End Date – The date and time when this Litigation Hold expires

To delete a litigation hold you must have system administrator rights; click the trash can icon following the Litigation Hold you want to delete.

 

 

Last updated on