We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda CloudGen Firewall

This Firmware Version Is End-Of-Support

Documentation for this product is no longer updated. Please see https://campus.barracuda.com/doc/71862301/ for further information on our EoS policy.

How to Activate Network Changes

  • Last updated on

After changing the configuration of the network subsystem, you must activate the new network configuration. There are three types of network activation:

  • Failsafe – A backup of the existing configuration is created, and the new network configuration is activated. If the connection to NG Admin is established successfully after activation, the network activation is complete.  If it fails, the network configuration is reverted to the previously working state. During activation in failsafe mode, the whole network system is shut down and the Barracuda NG Firewall is briefly unreachable. All active connections are terminated. 
  • Force – In this activation mode, the new network configuration is activated without making a backup of the old configuration. If the new network configuration does not work, there is no fallback mechanism. During activation in Force mode, the whole network system is shut down and the Barracuda NG Firewall is briefly unreachable. All active connections are terminated. 
  • Soft – Only use the Soft activation mode to add a route to an existing network configuration. All other network configuration changes cannot be activated in Soft mode. During activation in this mode, the network system is not shut down and firewall connections are not interrupted.

Alternatively, you can soft activate a new network configuration and reboot the Barracuda NG Firewall or NG Control Center for the network configuration changes to take effect.

Activate the Network Configuration

  1. Open the Box page (Control > Box). 
  2. In the left menu, expand the Network section and click Activate new network configuration.
  3. Click on the desired activation mode.

Activate_New_Network.png

 After activation, the network may briefly show an error state until all connections are established.

Last updated on