We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda CloudGen Firewall

How to Edit, Copy, Clone, Deactivate, or Delete Access Rules

  • Last updated on

You can perform various basic tasks when working with access rules in the forwarding ruleset.

Edit Access Rules

Edit access rules by either double-clicking the rule or clicking the Edit_pen.png (Edit) icon on the right of the rule. In the Edit Access Rule window, you can configure all possible configuration settings for the access rule.

edit_rule.png

Order of Access Rules

The access rules are processed from top to bottom. The first matching rule is executed to process the traffic; all rules located below this rule will not be evaluated. If no rule matches, the last rule in the list applies. This is always the BLOCKALL rule. The BLOCKALL rule blocks all traffic. New access rules are always inserted below the BLOCKALL rule. You need to move the new access rule up the list, so it is evaluated before a more general rule further down the list matches it.

rules_order.png

Move Access Rules Up or Down

To change the order in which the access rules are evaluated:

  1. Go to FIREWALL > Access Rules.
  2. Drag rules up or down in the table. If you want a rule to be executed, drag it above the BLOCKALL rule.
  3. After you finish adjusting the order of the access rules, click Save. Otherwise, your changes will not take effect.

Clone Access Rules

If you want to duplicate an access rule, click the copy.png (Copy) icon on the right of the rule. A copy of the rule is inserted at the bottom of the ruleset, with COPY appended to the rule name. You can drag it above the location where you want the new rule to take effect. After you finish adjusting the order of the access rules, click Save. Otherwise, your changes will not take effect.

Delete Access Rules

To delete an access rule, click the delete.png (Delete) icon on the right of the rule. The action dialog opens. Click OK to confirm the deletion.

Deactivate Access Rules

Last updated on