As the administrator, you can configure retention policy to limit the amount of disk space used for storing each user's quarantined messages, thereby conserving system resources on the Barracuda Email Security Gateway.
From the USERS > Retention Policies page, you can enable the user to easily schedule quarantined messages for regular purging based on age (in number of days), disk space used (specified in kilobytes), or both. Setting the Age Limit to a 7-14 day range is recommended assuming that older quarantined emails may lose importance with time.
Note that regardless of these settings, no messages younger than 3 days will be removed. For example, if the maximum size limit on email size is 10MB and a quarantined email has a 19MB attachment, the email will be retained for 3 days, giving the user time to examine and process that email before it is automatically deleted by the Barracuda Email Security Gateway.
Minimize Excessive Email Storage
It is recommended that users be trained to manage their own quarantine areas, since constant reliance on the Barracuda Email Security Gateway to automatically remove quarantined messages based on either age or disk usage may impact system performance.
The level at which performance is affected depends on the number of user quarantine areas that are kept on the Barracuda, the amount of email that is quarantined each day, and the number of tasks the system performs (e.g., reporting, or message body filtering).
Use the filters on the USERS > Account View page to quickly determine which users have the largest quarantine areas. Each account entry shows Yes/No in the Quarantine column ("Yes" indicates per-user quarantine is in effect for that user) and number of Kbytes of email stored in their quarantine inbox in the Size column. Individual user quarantine areas can be disabled from the USERS > Add/Update page so that any repeat offenders can be prevented from utilizing the Barracuda Email Security Gateway quarantine areas. When a user's quarantine is disabled, emails sent to that user that would normally have been placed in quarantine will simply be delivered to the user's actual mailbox with the subject line prepended with a quarantine tag.