We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.

Barracuda Email Security Gateway

Barracuda Message Center User's Guide

  • Last updated on

This article applies to messages encrypted by the Barracuda Email Security Gateway or the Barracuda Email Security Service.

Receive an Encrypted Email Message

If you have received one or more encrypted email messages via the Barracuda Message Center, the sender of the encrypted message(s) intended to secure the contents of message such that only you, the recipient, can view the body of the message. The subject of the email notifying you that you've received an encrypted message will look something like this:

You have a new encrypted message from   <mailbox name>@<yourdomain>.com   (or .net, .edu, .org, etc.)

 

The body of the email will contain a message that reads something like this:

To view the email message, click here to log into the Barracuda Message Center. You'll be prompted to either create a password or enter the one you may already have. You can also paste the following URL into your browser to access the Barracuda Message Center:  <URL>

 The secure message will expire in 30 days. Need Help?

Log into the Barracuda Message Center

Once you paste the URL into your browser, a Barracuda Networks Message Center page should appear.

  1. The first time this system is used, you will be asked to create a password. This password does not have an expiration date.
  2. The password can be anything you want, but must meet these password strength requirements:
    1. Include at least one special character.
    2. Be at least 8 characters long.
  3. Once you have chosen an acceptable password and click Done, the Encrypted Messages page will open. On all subsequent uses, the system will ask for a username and password. Your username will always be your email address.  If you forget your password, click on the Forgot your password link.  The system will send you an email to reset your password. Click on the link in the email to be directed to the Barracuda Networks Message Center, which will ask for a new password and confirmation.

Pick Up Secure Email Message

The Barracuda Message Center provides you with a web interface much like any web based email program. As shown in Figure 1, you can view a list of your encrypted messages, click on one to view the contents, delete one or more of them or download the message(s) to your local system.

Figure 1. Encyrpted Messages Inbox

Inbox.jpg

View Messages

Click on a message to view the contents of a message, as shown in Figure 2. You are the only one who can read the message body. You can view the message headers by clicking the Show All Headers link in the upper right. From the message window you can use buttons on the message bar Reply to, Reply All, Print, Delete or Download the message. Attachments can be downloaded individually by clicking on them.

Figure 2. Viewing an Encyrpted Message

MessageView.jpg
Reply to Messages

Click Reply to reply to your encrypted message. The contents of your reply will also be encrypted. Once you click Reply, you can upload files and send them securely back to the sender as part of the reply email by choosing Browse (to choose the selected files to add) or Add (to include an attachment in the reply email).

When finished, click Send. This will cause your reply message to be encrypted before returning to the sender.

Click Reply All to send your encrypted response to all other recipients of the message.

Saving Message Content

If you want to save the original email, the entire message (including attachments) can be saved by clicking Download.

Delete Multiple Messages

In the Encrypted Messages window, click the check box next to the message(s), and then click Delete on the tool bar. To refresh the message list, click Refresh next to Delete on the tool bar.

Last updated on