We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda Link Balancer

Attention

As of 1st March 2019, all new sales for the Barracuda Link Balancer product will cease. Only renewals of software and hardware subscriptions for a maximum of one year is available for a limited time. 1st March 2020: All Barracuda Link Balancer sales will cease; neither new sales nor any renewals will be available. If you currently hold a maintenance and support contract, you will continue to receive our award-winning support and services until your contract expires.

How to Remove a System from a Cluster

  • Last updated on

To remove a Barracuda Link Balancer system from a High Availability cluster you must erase its cluster settings and disconnect its network links. If the remaining system will no longer be in a cluster, it should have its cluster settings removed, and possibly should have its LAN IP address changed to the VRRP virtual IP address of the cluster. 

Use the LAN IP addresses of the Barracuda Link Balancers to access their web interfaces while separating them. As soon as one system is removed from the cluster, the VRRP virtual IP address will no longer be usable.

Remove a Barracuda Link Balancer from a Cluster

On the Barracuda Link Balancer you want to remove from the cluster, perform the following steps:

  1. Navigate to the Advanced > High Availability page.
  2. Click the garbage can icon to delete the other system from the Clustered Systems table.
  3. Remove the WAN, LAN and LAN2 links connected to this system.
  4. Review this system's other settings and make changes as necessary.

If you want to replace the removed system with another Barracuda Link Balancer, go to the Advanced > High Availability page on the remaining system and click the garbage can icon to delete the removed system from the Clustered Systems table. Then add the new system to the cluster.

Remove Cluster Parameters

To remove all cluster parameters from the remaining system:

  1. Go to the Advanced > High Availability page.
  2. Clear the Cluster Shared Secret password. 
  3. Click Save Changes. The login screen will appear. 
  4. Sign in and navigate to the Advanced > High Availability page.
  5. Click the garbage can icon to delete the other system from the Clustered Systems table.
  6. Set Enable Ethernet Passthrough to Enable if applicable.

If the Barracuda Link Balancer firewall is enabled, the VRRP virtual IP address is the default gateway for devices on the LAN. Configure that address as the LAN IP address of this system on the Basic > IP Configuration page. The system will reboot.

Last updated on