We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda Managed Workplace

Creating Shared Site Groups

  • Last updated on

A shared site group functions the same way as a regular site group, however shared site groups are centrally managed from a single group definition. To create shared site groups, you create a shared site group definition that includes the following settings:

  • group name
  • group definition
  • automatic inclusion rules that define what type of devices will be added to the group

After creating a shared site group definition, all newly created sites will automatically have site groups created according to the group definition.

You can also synchronize the shared site group definition to create site groups at your existing sites. When you synchronize a shared site group definition, the automatic inclusion rules are run against all your existing sites and a site group is created at each site.

You can view a list of your shared site groups by going to Configuration > Groups, and clicking the Site Groups tab. Shared site groups are differentiated from regular site groups by an icon worddavb43e1b7967beb0b04d4d0574af14ab42.png.

If you want to sever the relationship between a shared site group and its corresponding shared site group definition, you can demote the shared site group. For example, for a site called ABC Medical, you want to modify the site group's automatic inclusion rules to filter out Windows 8 devices. You can demote the shared site group at this site only, and make the modifications as needed. The other shared site groups created with the original group definition are not affected.

You can delete a shared site group definition that you no longer require. When you delete a shared site group definition, you are given the following options:

  • delete the definition, and delete all shared site groups created with that definition
  • delete the definition, and demote all shared site groups created with that definition to regular site groups

To create a shared site group definition

  1. In Service Center, click Configuration > Groups.

  2. Click the Configure Shared Site Groups tab.
  3. Click New.
  4. On the Overview tab, provide a name and description for the shared site group definition.
  5. Click the Auto-Inclusion Rules tab.
  6. Create the automatic application rules to determine what kind of devices are to be included in the shared site groups when they are created. For more information on building these rules, see Creating Rules to Automatically Add Devices to a Group.
  7. Click Save.

To synchronize a shared site group definition

  1. In Service Center, click Configuration > Groups.

  2. Click the Configure Shared Site Groups tab.
  3. Select the check box beside the shared site group definition you want to apply to existing sites.
  4. Click Sync.
    A notification message appears asking for confirmation that you want to synchronize the group definition. 
  5. Click OK.

To delete a shared site group definition

  1. In Service Center, click Configuration > Groups.

  2. Click the Configure Shared Site Groups tab.
  3. Select the check box beside the group definition you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete.
    The Shared Site Group Definition Delete Confirmation window opens. 
  5. Select one of the following options:
    • Click Delete to delete the site group definition and all site groups that were created from that definition.
    • Click Demote to delete the site group definition and demote all site groups that were created from that definition.

To demote a shared site group to a regular site group

  1. In Service Center, click Configuration > Groups.

  2. Click the Site Groups tab.
  3. From the Choose Site list, select the site containing the shared site group instance you want to demote.
  4. Select the check box beside the shared site group that you want to demote.
  5. Click Demote.
    A notification message appears asking for confirmation that you want to demote the shared site group. 
  6. Click OK.
Last updated on