This page provides the following topics:
When Deleting Devices
When you delete a device, you are deleting the records for that device in Service Center, but you are not preventing it from being discovered. If you do not want the device to be rediscovered, you can:
- skip or delete its IP address from the scan range first.
- delete and exclude to delete data from a device and exclude it from the scan.
Devices that are deleted are no longer be referenced in Service Center or Onsite Manager 5 to 10 minutes after deletion. However, the devices may continue to be referenced in Service Center as unavailable devices for a short period of time.
A down device is one that is unreachable and not responding to ICMP ECHO or other monitoring protocols, such as ARP cache retrievals. The device may be booted and online, but something is preventing a response. If the device is responding to ARP only, it is indicated with an asterisk. A device might respond to ARP only if, for example, it is a laptop that is turned off, but with a VPro chip that is responding to ARP.
Device Down icon
Device Down icon - responding to ARP but not ICMP ECHO or any other discovery protocol
When a device is not responding to the Onsite Manager discovery scan, Service Center continues to keep full asset, description and addressing information for the device until the specified interval triggers the next clean-up.
Even though a device may be down, you may not want to delete the device.
What You Can Do
To ensure that the information you see in the dashboards and reports is fresh and accurate, you can
- delete down devices manually.
- delete down devices automatically on a schedule after a specified period of inactivity.