It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda RMM (Formerly Managed Workplace)

Setting When to Delete Down Devices for a Site

  • Last updated on
Important

If Global Down Device Deletion has Apply to all sites and override site settings enabled, you cannot set a down device to delete on a per-site basis. Any changes you make in the procedure below do not change the threshold. See Setting the Global Default for Down Device Deletion.

The threshold for down device deletion is the number of consecutive days a device is down before it is automatically deleted from the system. For each site, you can set two thresholds for down devices, one for devices managed by Onsite Managers and one for devices managed by Device Managers. You can also choose to use the global setting. For more information about the Global Setting, see Setting the Global Default for Down Device Deletion

For information on down devices, see Down Devices.

Basic identity information is retained so that, in the event the device is rediscovered at a later date, the original configuration will be restored.

Default
  • For devices managed by the Onsite Manager: 30 days for automatic removal.
  • For devices managed by a Device Manager: 120 days for automatic removal.
Notes
  • If an IP address belongs to a server device, it is not deleted.
  • If an IP address belongs to a workstation device and the device is down for more than the allotted down device duration, it is deleted on the next scan. For domain environments, if a device is a Standalone Workstation or a Member Workstation, it is considered a workstation. For workgroup environments, if a device is XP, Vista or Windows 7, it is considered a workstation.
To send down device deletion notification emails, see To set the global default number of consecutive days devices can be down before they are automatically deleted in Setting the Global Default for Down Device Deletion.

To set the number of days a device can be down before it is automatically deleted from a site

Important

If Global Down Device Deletion has Apply to all sites and override site settings enabled, changing the per-site threshold below does not change the threshold. Any changes you make in the procedure below do not change the threshold. See Setting the Global Default for Down Device Deletion.

  1. In Service Center, click Site Management > Sites.

  2. Click the site you want to edit.
  3. Click the Configuration tab.
  4. In the Down Device Deletion Settings section, click Modify.
  5. To use the global setting for devices managed by the Onsite Manager or a Device Manager, select Use global setting for that type of device.

  6. To set a down device deletion threshold for devices managed by the Onsite Manager, ensure the global override setting for down device deletion is disabled by following the To set the global default number of consecutive days devices can be down before they are automatically deleted procedure. Ensure Use global setting is disabled. In Onsite Manager - Down Device Deletion Setting, type the number of days a device must be consecutively down before it is automatically deleted from the system.

  7. To set a down device deletion threshold for devices managed by a Device Manager, ensure the global override setting for down device deletion is disabled by following the To set the global default number of consecutive days devices can be down before they are automatically deleted procedure. Ensure Use global setting is disabled. In Device Manager - Down Device Deletion Setting, type the number of days a device must be consecutively down before it is automatically deleted from the system.

  8. Click Save.

 

 

Last updated on