This article refers to the Barracuda Message Archiver firmware version 5.0 and higher.
Typically, there are only two reasons to remove a system from a mirrored configuration:
- you no longer want to maintain mirroring, or
- you are replacing one of the systems in the mirrored configuration.
Remove a System
- Log in to the device which will remain in the mirrored configuration, and use the ADVANCED > Backup page to complete a system configuration backup.
- Log in to the Barracuda Message Archiver you want to remove from the mirrored configuration, navigate to the ADVANCED > Clustering page, and in the Cluster Settings section, complete the following:
- Change or clear the Cluster Shared Secret field.
- Click Save; the Barracuda Message Archiver is now unable to communicate with the remaining system in the mirrored configuration, and any messages arriving on the other system after this time are not duplicated on the system you are removing.
- On the system you are removing, delete the Barracuda Message Archiver from the Clustered Search table, and click Save.
- Returning to the Barracuda Message Archiver you are not removing, navigate to the ADVANCED > Clustering page, and delete the removed Barracuda Message Archiver entry from the Clustered Search table.
Replace a System
Remove the old device, and install the new replacement device using the Barracuda Message Archiver Quick Start Guide.
Once the new device is installed, follow the steps in the following sections to complete the system replacement in the mirrored configuration: