We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.

Attention

Review the Data Retention Setting in the Global Settings menu to ensure it meets your needs. The first data retention delete will occur on February 1, 2020.

Anonymizer

  • Last updated on

Use the Anonymizer utility to remove personally identifiable information from addresses. Having anonymized data enables you to analyze the data without revealing information about the people associated with the data.

Notes

  • After you anonymize the data in an Address Book, you cannot revert the data back. If you might need that data, as reference, for example, consider creating a copy of the Address Book before running the Anonymizer utility.
    For details on how to copy an Address Book, refer to Address Book Utility .
  • You cannot use an anonymized address book for testing. Anonymize the data after a test is complete to remove identifiable information from results analysis. 
    Anonymizing data can impact your future training plans. For example, if you want to send a training email to users who clicked a link in a specific campaign, but you anonymize the address book used in the testing campaign, you cannot then send to the users who clicked in that campaign. 

 

To make contacts anonymous:

  1. Navigate to System > Anonymizer.
  2. Click New.
  3. Select the Address Book you want to anonymize.
  4. Click Save.
  5. Review or specify the following information:
    • Address Book – Confirm the Address Book you want to sanitize, or select a different Address Book here.
    • Target Field SelectionBy default, all fields are made anonymous. Select any fields within the Address Book that you do not want to make anonymous. Note that some check boxes are not modifiable because the information the fields contain is required.
  6. Click Save to save your changes and come back to this request later.
  7. When you are satisfied with your settings, in the Stage section, click confirmed.png to move to the Confirmed Stage. This process takes about 15 minutes. 

    Note that this action cannot be undone. Once you move to the Confirmed Stage, you cannot return to the Configure stage or otherwise revert the Address Book.

  8. Click Done.
Last updated on