We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda PST Enterprise

How do I reduce traffic between the PST Enterprise server and my client machines?

  • Type: Knowledgebase
  • Date changed: 2 years ago
Solution # 00007711 

Scope: Scope: PST Enterprise, v3.0 or later

Answer:

Communication between the PST Enterprise Server and the PST Enterprise Client is designed to be lightweight. No data from the PST files themselves is sent to the PST Enterprise Server. The PST Enterprise Client receives configuration information and sends the PST Enterprise server status updates. If you have limited bandwidth availability or wish to decrease the bandwidth utilization between the PST Enterprise server and the machines where you are running the PST Enterprise Client, you can review the following 

Client Configuration settings:

·         Miscellaneous Settings: Frequency of updates to the progress of PST processing on this website, in seconds (60 seconds by default).

o   During evaluation, you may wish to see frequent status updates so that you can closely monitor progress of client testing. In production however this will no longer be necessary and it is recommended to increase this value to 15 minutes or more for the ‘Default‘ configuration. Though each update in itself is a very small amount of data, the large number of PST Enterprise Client deployments in a production scenario will generate a larger volume of updates than is seen in testing against a small number of clients. Hence, the default value of 60 seconds should be incremented as desired for your environment.

·         Enable upload of PST Enterprise Client audit and diagnostics logs (disabled by default).

o   If you have enabled the upload of audit and diagnostic data for the ‘Default‘ configuration, then any client machine which doesn’t have its own configuration will upload this data to the PST Enterprise server. This would typically be the majority of your clients, and for this reason it is recommended that you only enable this setting on client configurations for individual machines if required.





Link to This Page: 
https://campus.barracuda.com/solution/50160000000Su7AAAS