We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda Web Security Gateway

Why are websites indicating that I am located in Canada, China, or some other country?

  • Type: Knowledgebase
  • Date changed: 11 months ago
Solution Number: 00006758
All Barracuda Web Filters

Websites determine the location of web traffic looking at the incoming IP, and then seeing where that IP is located. Under normal circumstances, the IP they will see is your external IP. However, when traffic passes through the web filter we can attach headers to it that expose the IP of the client machine. This can create an issue if your internal IP is not from the private range.
If your internal IP range is not from the private IP ranges (, 172.16-31.0.0/16,, then it may be tied to a specific location. For example, the IP comes from Canada, so if you are surfing from a client machine with an internal IP of, and it is passed through headers to a website, they may think you are coming from Canada.
To resolve this issue:
1. Navigate to the Advanced > Proxy page.
2. Set X-Forwarded-For Header to No.
3. Save changes and test. Make sure to clear your browser cache first.
Websites should now track you correctly as coming from your external IP.
Additional Notes:
If you are unsure where your internal IP range is located, you can run a whois command search. If this is not available, you should also be able to track down the owner/location of the IP range by searching for the IP online. For example:
-bash-4.2$ whois
# ARIN WHOIS data and services are subject to the Terms of Use
# available at: https://www.arin.net/whois_tou.html
# Query terms are ambiguous. The query is assumed to be:
# "n"
# Use "?" to get help.
# The following results may also be obtained via:
# http://whois.arin.net/rest/nets;q=
NetRange: -
OriginAS: AS5645
NetHandle: NET-192-0-128-0-1
Parent: NET-192-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
RegDate: 2012-11-15
Updated: 2012-11-15
Ref: http://whois.arin.net/rest/net/NET-192-0-128-0-1
OrgName: TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
OrgId: TS-1
Address: 800 Richmond St.
City: Chatham
StateProv: ON
PostalCode: N7M 5J5
Country: CA
RegDate: 2010-10-15
Updated: 2012-10-23
Ref: http://whois.arin.net/rest/org/TS-1
ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.teksavvy.com:4321
OrgNOCHandle: NOC1728-ARIN
OrgNOCPhone: +1-519-360-1716
OrgNOCEmail: support@teksavvy.com
OrgNOCRef: http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/NOC1728-ARIN
OrgTechHandle: NOC1728-ARIN
OrgTechName: NOC
OrgTechPhone: +1-519-360-1716
OrgTechEmail: support@teksavvy.com
OrgTechRef: http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/NOC1728-ARIN
OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE816-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Abuse
OrgAbusePhone: +1-519-360-1575
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@teksavvy.com
OrgAbuseRef: http://whois.arin.net/rest/poc/ABUSE816-ARIN

Link To This Page: