We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda Yosemite Server Backup

Advanced Restore and Verify Options

  • Last updated on

Advanced Restore Options

These options apply to all restore jobs regardless of the operating system.

OptionRestore
General options
Eject media after use  If selected, Yosemite Server Backup automatically ejects the media at the end of the job. This feature only works on devices that support software eject.
Auto RetensionIf selected, Yosemite Server Backup automatically re-tensions the media at the beginning of the job. This feature winds the tape cartridge end-to-end, applying equal tension to the entire media for maximum media life and data integrity. Your device must support auto re-tension to use this feature.
Restore files that are in use

If selected, Yosemite Server Backup restores the backup copy of the open file. (On Windows platforms, you can access the restored file after you restart the computer.) If you select this option, the restored file will replace your open file. As a result, your current changes may be lost.

Deselect this option to skip over all selected files that are in use. This is useful if the open files are more current than the backed up files.

 Omit security informationIf selected, any security information associated with the files and folders which were part of the backup is removed. The files and folders are restored, as if they were freshly created, inheriting permissions.
Windows options
Reparse points Select this option to restore the reparse point data. When this option is deselected, Yosemite Server Backup will restore the object as a file or folder rather than as a reparse point.
Mount Points
When selected, Yosemite Server Backup includes the mount point information in the restore. If this option is not selected, Yosemite Server Backup restores the object as a directory.
Volume restrictionsWhen enabled, volume quota information will be restored.
Finalize recovery of Microsoft SQL and Exchange Server databases
 Select this option to process database transactions when the last incremental restore is complete.
Restore all registry keys / Restore hardware registry keys
Controls whether/how Yosemite Server Backup restores the described objects. This setting only applies if you restore the Registry System State object.
Restore DFS/FRS shares as primary replica (authoritative restore)
Use this option to control how a DFS or FRS share is being restored. Only select it if you want an authoritative restore. See the Microsoft documentation for more information on authoritative restores.

Data filters, such as security information and directory attributes, cannot restore data that was not originally backed up to the media. For example, if you did not select Volume restrictions for the backup job, Yosemite Server Backup cannot restore this information because it was never stored on the media.

Advanced Verify Options

The following advanced options are available for Verify jobs.

OptionDescription
General options
Eject media after useWhen selected, Yosemite Server Backup automatically ejects the media at the end of the job. This feature only works on devices that support software eject.
Auto Retention  When selected, Yosemite Server Backup automatically re-tensions the media at the beginning of the job. This feature winds the tape cartridge end-to-end, applying equal tension to the entire media for maximum media life and data integrity. Your device must support auto re-tension to use this feature.
Native data streams format 
 When selected, Yosemite Server Backup will compare the data in native format. When unselected, only the data portion of the file will be verified. This must match the mode used during backup.
Windows options
Enable snapshots
 By default, the verify job creates a temporary snapshot before verifying the selected file. Deselect this to disable snapshots.
Reparse points Select to verify the reparse point data. When deselected, Yosemite Server Backup will verify the object as a file or folder rather than as a reparse point.
Mount Points
When selected, Yosemite Server Backup includes the mount point information in the restore. If this option is not selected, Yosemite Server Backup will verify the object as a directory.
Volume restrictions
 When enabled, volume quota information will be verified.
Last updated on