We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda Yosemite Server Backup

Device Commands

  • Last updated on

There are several physical operations that can be performed on a selected device. Some of these operations affect the device itself, while others affect the current media in the device.

Not all operations are available on all devices. For example, an optical device does not support the Rewind command. Check your hardware documentation to determine which of the following commands are supported by your device. Only supported commands will appear on the context menu and the command bar.

Identify

You can view a short video on how to identify what media are in backup devices and whether the media are valid and registered in the Yosemite database.

Use this command to get the name of the media currently loaded in the device. Yosemite Server Backup tries to identify the tape or other media that is currently loaded in the device. If Yosemite Server Backup cannot identify the media, it reads the media header, a process that may take up to several minutes. The name of the media appears on the log file for the media job and in the Media column of the device list.

Import

This command allows you to use data on media that was created in another Yosemite Server Backup management domain. To use media that was not created in the current catalog, you must import that media into the current catalog.

You might import media in one the following situations:

  • To use media created by an earlier version of Yosemite Server Backup.

  • To use media created in a different Yosemite Server Backup management domain.

  • To use media accidentally deleted from the catalog.

When you select the Import command a property page will open and prompt you for the media password and the encryption passphase. The media password is only applicable to media created with older version of Yosemite Server Backup and can usually be left empty.

An encryption passphrase is only required for encrypted media. If the supplied passphrase is not correct, the job log will present you with the hint supplied at the time of the media's creation.

Format

Use this command to format media currently loaded in the selected device.

When you format new media, Yosemite Server Backup opens the Format Media dialog box. Use this dialog box to name the media and select a media folder in which to store the media. Yosemite Server Backup will format the media currently loaded in the device you select. If you select a library, select the storage slot that holds the media you want to use. When you format media, you can also set your choice of encryption levels. Any backup job that uses media pre formatted with encryption must specify the same encryption parameters.

Yosemite Server Backup is designed to manage your media for you. This command should only be used by knowledgeable users and only after determining that the built-in media management does not produce the desired results.

Erase

This command erases the media currently loaded in the selected device. It has the following options:

CommandDescription
Quick Erase Erases the first block and then writes an end of data marker to that first block. The other blocks of the tape are not erased, but when that tape is read, Yosemite Server Backup treats it as if it were blank because it encounters the end of data marker in the first block.
Secure Erase Erases every block on the tape. This operation can be very time consuming, lasting several hours. However, it will physically erase every block on the tape. If you want to destroy sensitive data, use this command.

Some devices support both options; some support only one of the two erase options. Only options supported by the selected device will be available.

Retension Media

Occasionally when a tape is repeatedly fast-forwarded and rewound for only short distances, tension differences develop in the tape that cause the tape drive to falsely believe it has reached the end or beginning of the tape. You can use this command fast-forwards the tape to the end of the tape and then rewinds it to the beginning. This command can be useful in some circumstances. By retensioning the tape, you can sometimes make an otherwise unusable tape operational again.

If you need to retension tapes regularly to use them, consider servicing your tape drive or replacing your tapes.

Eject

You can use this command to eject media from the selected device or eject the media magazines from the selected library. Some libraries do not support ejecting media magazines using this command.

Restore Catalog

The Restore Catalog command provides a quick method of restoring your current catalog–for example in case it has been corrupted. For example, you might use this command if the Yosemite Server Backup Domain Server has crashed. Use this command only when your current set of media is intact. .

The Restore Catalog command differs significantly from the Import Media command in that it replaces the current catalog with the last known good catalog on that media. The Import Media command, on the other hand, does not replace the current catalog; it only adds additional data to it.

The advantage of the Restore Catalog command is that it provides a quick and easy way to replace a lost or corrupted Yosemite Server Backup catalog. You could use the Import Media command to restore a corrupted catalog, but this process requires importing all of your media rather than simply reading the media containing the catalog.

It's a good idea to make a regular backup of the Yosemite Server Backup catalog. It will be included automatically in any full backup of the Backup Domain

All information in the current Yosemite Server Backup catalog will be lost when you use the Restore Catalog command. This command does not append data to the current catalog; it replaces the current catalog with the last known good catalog on that media.

You will be prompted stop and restart the service. Use the Yosemite Server Backup Service Control Manager to start and stop the Yosemite Server Backup service.

Clean Device

The Clean Device command will run the backup device through a cleaning cycle.

This command is supported only by libraries. If a device in a library provides notification that it needs cleaning and the library has a cleaning cartridge available, a cleaning cycle will be performed automatically at the start of a backup job. If you are using a device that is not a library, you must manually clean the device at the manufacturer’s suggested intervals.

To clean a device in a library, highlight the device and select Clean Device from the Command bar. Yosemite Server Backup will check to see if one of the slots holds a cleaning cartridge. If it does, the cleaning cycle will be performed in the background; if not, an error message is shown.

If the Clean Device command is missing, it is not available for your backup device. In this case, a cleaning cycle can often be performed by manually inserting a cleaning cartridge into the backup device.

Start, Stop, and Rescan

Sometimes you will need to restart a device that has, for some reason, failed to initialize properly. A device may have stopped for any number of reasons, such as a power failure or a connecting cable malfunction. Virtual devices on a network appear disabled if the network connection has failed.

When a device is not initialized, it appears with a yellow warning icon. Some devices may take some time to initialize, during which the warning icon will continue to appear. If a device shows the warning icon after it is initialized, press F5  to refresh the device display.

If you do not see a device that you expect to see connected to a machine, select the Device folder under the machine and click the Rescan for New Devices command.

If there is some other problem with the device or the controller, the warning icon will not disappear. You must identify and correct the problem yourself. Then you must restart both Yosemite Server Backup and the Yosemite Server Backup service. When Yosemite Server Backup restarts, it will initialize the device driver again. Check the Devices view to see that the devices are now properly working and that they no longer display the warning icon. Any duplicate or old devices that are offline can be deleted from the Catalog  view.

Last updated on