We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda Yosemite Server Backup

Tutorial - Restore Files to a Different Machine

  • Last updated on

You can view a short video about how to restore a backup to a different machine than the one from which the backup files were created.

In the event that a client computer's hard drive cannot be repaired, you may need to restore backed up files to a different machine. This tutorial describes how to restore files from the backup media that you created in A Simple Backup. This tutorial illustrates many restore features available in Yosemite Server Backup.

  1. Make sure the device is powered up and insert the backup media into it.
  2. Select Tasks in the Navigation bar, and double click the Restore icon.
  3. Enter a recognizable name for the restore job, such as "My First Restore," and click OK.
  4. Navigate down the network, machine, and file system to locate the folders and files that were included in your first backup. In this view, only files and folders that have been backed up appear. Select the boxes adjacent to the files/folders that you want to restore. By selecting a folder, you include all its subfolders and files in the restore job.
  5. To restore the files to a different location, click the Move icon in the Tool bar. Restoring files to a different location allows you to compare the original files with the restored files. Alternatively, right-click the folder or file and select Move.

    Not all objects can be moved in a Move Restore (including, System State, Yosemite Server Backup Database, and others). In these cases, the Move icon will be dimmed.

  6. Create a new folder to hold the restored files.
    1. In the Select destination for move operation dialog box, right-click the C: drive, and select New > Directory.
    2. Enter a name for your newly restored folder and click OK.
    3. Select the new folder as the destination for the move operation and click OK. Your new folder is now visible under the C: drive.
    4. Expand the folder to see how the files will look when the restore job is finished. You can refine the restore selection by selecting or deselecting individual folders and files. Only the selected files and folders will be restored.

      As you navigate the restore view, you see a list of file and folder versions at the bottom of the view. That list represents each backup in which the selected object was included. When multiple versions of a file have been backed up, they appear in this list. You can select and earlier version to restore. If you do not select an item in the version list, Yosemite Server Backup restores the most recently backed up version.

       

  7. Click Device in the Task bar and select the device containing your backup. For this tutorial, you can ignore the Configuration and Advanced settings.
  8. Click OK to complete configuring this restore job. At the prompts, click Yes, and then click Yes again to view the new restore job in the Admin folder.
  9. Select the new restore job, and then click Run in the command bar to start the job. Click Yes at the prompt to confirm.

    When the job runs, a red button may flash in the lower right portion of the window. This indicates that an issue requires your intervention. Click the button to view alert details and resolve the issue.

     

  10. Click Status in the Command bar to view the restore job status in the lower left-hand pane (the Info bar) of the Task bar. Alternately, click the Status and Logs link in the the Navigation bar (the top left-hand area of the Task bar).

  11. After a job runs, click Status and Logs in the Navigation bar to ensure that there were no problems. Locate your job in the list, click the + sign to expand the job, and select the most recent run. The property pane displays the first page of the job log. To view the entire log, click View Log in the Command bar.
  12. Double-click the log entry to open the restore job log. Scroll through the log to check that there are no problems. If the Next Page button is highlighted, there are additional pages to review. Click Close when you have finished reading the log.

You have now created and run your first restore job.

Last updated on