We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.

Attention

Starting May 1st, 2018, we will no longer offer the ArchiveOne family of products. This includes all editions of ArchiveOne, ArchiveOne for Files, Max Compression, and Access Security Manager. If you currently hold a maintenance and support contract, you will continue to receive our award-winning support until your contract expires, or until May 1st, 2019, whichever occurs first. The license for ArchiveOne is perpetual; therefore the software may continue to be used independently without any updates or support indefinitely.

How to Flush the Browse Archive Database

  • Last updated on

This article refers to the Barracuda ArchiveOne versions 6.5.1 and higher.

The folder hierarchy on the Archive Search (AOneSearch) web page is constructed by querying the Browse Archive database. The database contains no messages, merely metadata. The database is populated by the Browse Archive synchronization task which inserts information about messages in the repositories that are enabled for Browse Archive synchronization into the database. When a user accesses the Archive Search website, this information is queried so a display can be rendered of all the user’s messages as well as other user archived data to which they have been granted access. The folder hierarchy is the folder path at the point at which the message was archived, and is read-only and can not be modified by the end user. The Browse Archive database update is incremental and is triggered automatically after each archiving run, and on a daily basis by default.

It may be necessary as part of a troubleshooting step, or if you want to remove expired and deleted messages, to flush this database. You can flush the database of all messages or flush individual repositories. You can then manually start the update to re-synchronize the repository data with the Browse Archive database.

A user will not see their complete folder hierarchy until the database is fully re-synchronized. This has no impact on a user's ability to search for messages. Until all folders are visible and the user can browse the folder structure, they need to search for messages.

Flush Entire Database

To flush the entire database,

  1. Open the ArchiveOne Admin console.
  2. Right-click the Status Node, and click Configure.
  3. Click the Browse Archive tab, and click Status to view the current synchronization status.
  4. In the Browse Archive Update Status dialog box, click Flush to delete the entire contents of the Browse Archive database.
  5. Once flushed, click Start to begin the synchronization and repopulate the database.

    Synchronization time is dependent upon the number of items stored in the archive; click Stop to stop a synchronization in progress.

  6. Click Close.

Flush Repository

To flush an individual repository,

  1. Open the ArchiveOne Admin console.
  2. Click the Mailbox and Journal Repositories Node.
  3. Right-click the repository in question, and click Flush/Rebuild Browse Archive database.
Last updated on