We use cookies on our website to ensure we provide you with the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics and personalized content.This website uses cookies. More Information
It seems like your browser didn't download the required fonts. Please revise your security settings and try again.
Barracuda Backup
Barracuda Backup

How to Resolve "Error Removing Snapshot" Error During ESX/ESXi Virtual Machine Backup

  • Last updated on

This article refers to the Barracuda Backup Legacy Release firmware or newer, VMware, VMware vCenter, vSphere, and ESX, and Agent for VMware Virtual Infrastructure (AVVI).

When AVVI is enabled, you cannot manually delete a vCenter snapshot because when a snapshot is removed from a virtual machine, ESX automatically creates a Consolidated Helper-0 snapshot which holds the snapshot data until the actual snapshot is deleted. Once the process is complete, the Consolidated Helper-0 is rolled into the resulting .vmdk file only when the following conditions are met:

  • Consolidated Helper-0 snapshot file size must meet the minimal snapshot size in VMware which is less than 16MB
  • None or minimal I/O write on the virtual machine

To automatically delete a vCenter snapshots, log into the Barracuda Backup web interface, and go to the Backup > Schedules page.

If you attempt to manually delete a vCenter snapshot from Barracuda Backup before the Consolidated Helper-0 snapshot is rolled into the VMDK, an error displays in the Reports > Backup report page in the Barracuda Backup web interface, as shown in the following image:

error_removing_snapshot.jpg

Verify VMware Disk I/O Issues

If you continue to encounter an error, you may wish to confirm whether there are I/O issues on the virtual machine causing high CPU usage. 

  1. Log into and restart the virtual machine to commit the Consolidated Helper-0 snapshot.
  2. Log into the vCenter/vSphere Snapshot Manager and create a quiesce snapshot file.
  3. Once the quiesce snapshot is created, click on the quiesce snapshot file name, and click Delete.
  4. When you delete the snapshot, if a Consolidate Helper-0 snapshot continues to display, and the Status field displays an error message similar to the following:
    file_locked.png 
    You may need to adjust your virtual environment to resolve the high CPU usage. 

Unlock the quiesce Snapshot

Use the following steps to unlock the Consolidated Helper-0 file:

  1. Log into and restart the virtual machine.
  2. Allow the quiesce snapshot to commit the snapshot; the Consolidated Helper-0 file should be automatically removed once this process is complete.

 

Last updated on